Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: ASP DIY Feasability

ASP DIY Feasability 1 year 3 months ago #63527

• Omelas
  • "But it was so artistically done..."
  • Thank you received: 14
Hello all,

DIYing the electronics from the ASP Saber shop is about 50$ cheaper than buying the plug and play electronic kits.

However, I have no knowledge of how to wire it, assemble it, if I would need to add resistors, etc.
I have soldered and assembled other electronic components before, so I believe I have the skills to assemble the electronics, just no idea on how to do so.

I know that it just released to the public, so not many people have received and actually assembled the ASP DIY electronics, but for an expert who looked at all the pieces required, do you think that someone in my shoes could pull off a proper DIY electronic assembly (following a tutorial or something like that)? Or should I just suck it up and buy a plug and play?

Thank you :) ,
Omelas
“Mmm. Lost a planet, Master Obi-Wan has. How embarrassing.” ~Grandmaster Yoda
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Solinbeb

ASP DIY Feasability 1 year 3 months ago #63529

• Jaden Korr
  • Platinum Member
  • "Remember, [Force] abilities are not inherently good or evil; it's how you use them." --Kyle Katarn
  • Thank you received: 511
Looking at the board, the pads are fairly straightforward. Two speaker pads, two switch pads, positive and negative LED pads, and positive and negative battery pads.

For your LED, blue, green, and white dies won't need resistors, but red, red-orange, and amber will. SF doesn't list the foreword voltages of the dies (they're
Cree XQ-Es, and that info can be found online), but a 1Ω 2W resistor should be fine. Though if you don't want to worry about it go ahead and grab a pre wired LED unit. If you want an illuminated switch, you'll need something like the DynaOhm resistor TCSS sells.