Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Adding to a Champion level ASP saber.

Adding to a Champion level ASP saber. 1 year 3 months ago #63606

• Mourngrym
Hello, everyone. I have a Champion level ASP saber that I ordered via the KickStarter launch, and absolutely love it. I am, however, considering replacing the normal momentary switch with one of the lighted switches, and wanting to add a recharge port. I'm curious if anyone has done this, and how to go about it. I have plenty of experience with soldering and electronic assembly, but am not sure about the actual layout that would be required. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Adding to a Champion level ASP saber. 1 year 3 months ago #63657

• ToyKeeper
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 87
I'm installing a recharge port in mine as soon as the rest of the parts show up, and plan to post a howto with pictures. Tracking says it should be here this week so I expect to have it posted within a few days.

I also have a lighted AV switch (and some non-lighted low-profile switches) showing up, but I'm leaning toward not wiring up the switch light. I considered it, but the DynaOhm resistors at TCSS are out of stock at the moment and I don't know enough to pick the right regular resistor. Mostly I just want a switch I won't keep bumping by accident.

The recharge port is by far the most important to me, since the SaberCore boards have really high standby current (~200mA) and they keep a chip rather hot all the time when connected to power. So, a kill key would help. And with a charge port I don't have to keep taking the chassis out and risk damaging the internals every time.

Meanwhile, here's the layout from JeffVader's post:

If I opt for the switch light, I'll probably connect it to PWR instead of LED, so I can more easily tell when power is connected.