Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Is My Hilt Too big?

Is My Hilt Too big? 1 year 4 months ago #39929

• lordofthescrubs
I've designed my ideal saber, look wise, with the ASP website. I have no complaints and the designer was very easy to use. I'm very new to Sabers and I decided on Saberforge for its great quality and warranty policy. Because this is my first saber I have many questions. My biggest would be "Is my hilt too big?" It measures 1'4.9" (4'0.9" with the blade). I want to be able to duel with it using one hand and do some basic forward and back spins and maybe even the "Obi-Ani" if I get good at the basics. I have no clue if this is possible with my current size ASP saber though. Any tips and or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

The saber in question

http://www.saberparts.com/#/configure?code=4.117.4.0-3.109.4.22-2.51.4.0-1.43.4.0-7.152.19.0-5.143.0.0
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Is My Hilt Too big? 1 year 4 months ago #40119

• Maridion
The biggest issues I can see here (although I'm not great at spins myself) is just the length of the blade, and the emitter claw. the shorter the blade is, the easier spins are, and I haven't tried the claws but it seems like they'd get in the way of the obi-ani spin.

Is My Hilt Too big? 1 year 4 months ago #40138

• MrJiggyFly
  • Thank you received: 1
Looks great to me. Looks like your hands will be mainly on the body and the switch parts with a bit of the emitter to spare. The pommel wont be where you will be holding it so that's going to be more of counter weight. So I think you should be ok.

Is My Hilt Too big? 1 year 4 months ago #40266

• lordofthescrubs
Thanks so much! It was greatly appreciated!

Is My Hilt Too big? 1 year 4 months ago #40268

• lordofthescrubs
By length of the blade do you mean too long or too short?

Is My Hilt Too big? 1 year 4 months ago #40386

• Maridion