Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Dueling Armor

Dueling Armor 3 weeks 2 days ago #82305

• Major_Tom
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 20
So yesterday, my girl's Crystal Ares arrived, and after showing it around the office, we proceeded to fight in the parking lot, at which point I promptly delivered a resounding blow to her wrist. It's not broken, (I was an EMT and more recently unit medic in the swiss army), but she def has reduced mobility and a nasty welt. In order to redeem myself out of the dog house I now need to find her some star-wars appropriate and combat ready bracers. She has her heart fairly set on the getup that Obi Wan wears in TCW animated series. All I've found online are cosplay guides and I doubt foam and papercraft are going to hold up in full contact sparring.

Any tips or leads?

Edit: Ares, btw, is amazing. Well balanced with the 37'' blade, amazing twohander. 2 hander's arent my style but she is smitten, and though battle damaged, she is not dissuaded
The Force flows through us all, in all of its peace and passion
Last Edit: 3 weeks 2 days ago by Major_Tom.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Dueling Armor 3 weeks 2 days ago #82306

• Sylabus
  • Thank you received: 33
If you'really going to make it yourself and wear for full contact, stay away from basic craft foamy. I used that for a costume, and while very flexible, it will not help absorb a lot of impact. I would suggest using eva foam. Aka: the stuff that snap-together play-room floors and yoga mats are made of! Armor made of that stuff looks great for costumes and can take a beating. I mean, I know some LARPers who use the stuff.

A decent idea of what it's all about:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Creating-a-CostumeCosplay-from-EVA-Foam/
"I believe that the human spirit is indomitable. If you endeavor to achieve, it will happen given enough resolve." ~Monty Oum

Dueling Armor 3 weeks 2 days ago #82307

• For Tyeth
  • Platinum Member