Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Continuous Upgrade expensive (Heretic)

Continuous Upgrade expensive (Heretic) 3 weeks 2 days ago #83757

• Sharangir
  • Thank you received: 5
Hey there

newbie here, big fan of SW:TOR and KOTOR, as well as a great fan of all the movies (even the Prequel trilogy, don't shoot me :D )

I've been lusting for a lightsaber for many many years (had a Darth Vader retractable saber with clash and hum sounds 20 years ago) and always held back on the serious stuff because of financial reasons. (And because it would be impossible to duel with the master replicas)

I first stumbled onto the Ultra-thingy sabers after Episode 8 a week ago. Read countless bad reviews and eventually ended up on the Saberforge homepage (where most reviews were mostly positive and the consensus seemed to be that the bang-for-the-buck ratio would be best for a dueling saber).

Eventually, I looked through all the hilts and instantly fell in love with two designs:
the Legacy Grand Master
and the Apprentice Heretic

The former, for financial reasons, is not an option, and probably never will be..

The latter, however, is very attractive.

Because I'm not one for half-baked options, I would want my saber to have a Sabercore 3.0 with all bells and whistles. Unfortunately, that means the Champion Tier with Energy Pulse option and quick connect LED option (so I could easily switch the color in the future if I get tired of purple).
With a total price of around 400 USD (with shipping to Europe and taxes) this is way too expensive right now.

My issue now is the following:
Buying a Warrior Tier Heretic saber costs 175$
Buying a Champion Tier costs 325$ (150$ more than the warrior Tier)

If I go with the Warrior Tier and want to buy the SC 3.0 upgrade later, I will pay 200$ for the SC3.0 alone.
But that's without all the additional upgrades and features the Champion Tier comes with.