Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Long exposure shots: A tutorial

Long exposure shots: A tutorial 1 day 1 hour ago #3799

• Darth Cephalus
  • Many tentacles, the dark side has.
  • Like received: 13
So I notice that a lot of people are posting pictures of themselves and their sabers on the forum. Many of them are great but they are mostly still frames. I think we as a community can step up our game.
We have all seen those nice trailing photos of light and fire. LED sabers in action are a great way to get some very interesting shots like this.

The purpose of this tutorial is to introduce people to action shots of sabers, and to a lesser extent, light painting in general. As a note, I am not a professional photographer. I just play around a bit. If anyone has any finer points or corrections to make, please feel free.

First things first, you will need a few things.

1. a camera
While the cameras on phones are getting better and better these days, there is really no substitute for a real digital camera. You need not have an expensive one exactly. Mine is an old Kodak Powershot. The main thing is that you need a camera that will let you manually adjust the aperture, exposure, flash, and iso settings.

Note: there are apps that will let you do a few of these on your phone but it is iffy at best. One that I found called photon capture lets you controll exposure, but without controlling flash, it just marks high points leading to an image like this

Notice that the it only picks up the brightest points, so it gets the saber as I run through the store but not me.

2. a tripod
This is not exactly necessary but is recommended. Without one, you can still set the camera on a surface, but you will be limited by the surfaces at your disposal. Hand held is not a real option with long exposure. You will still catch the light but stationary items will go wibblie. Note the street lamps in the back of this hand held picture.