Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Prodigy "Weathered" - NBv4 RGB install

Prodigy "Weathered" - NBv4 RGB install 4 days 23 hours ago #89969

• Jas-Ot
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 523
I installed this for a client recently and was reasonably impressed with the deign of the hilt. I've been a fan of the apprentice line from SF and the prodigy is a great example of the value you get on an apprentice line saber.

As will most apprentice hilts, this is a solid one piece construction that is slim and very comfortable to wield. I like the mashup of graflex inspired emitter and the ribbed hilt, it has an almost scraptech feel and look to it. It's also ripe for modification. I could see adding some greeblies to this to really take it to the next level. I may pick one of these up for my collection to do just that.

From an install perspective there's nothing new here, very much a standard Apprentice line install, the switch section ID is a little thinner that others, so a long AV switch will require trimming of the solder legs to fit. There's just enough room for a chassis containing battery, sound board and speaker with enough extra length for wiring to be long enough to allow the chassis to slide out almost entirely. You could even go with a removable battery setup with this one.

This particular hilt received a Nano Biscotte V4 with a Power Extender for three channels. It features an RGrB LED and allows for full spectrum color mixing. Power is provided by an 18650 Li-Ion battery rated at 3500mah and 10amps. Sound is driven by a 2w 4ohm "bass" speaker from KR sabers. I have put a new style of switch in, a tactile 12mm. It features a very short throw and has that wonderful "clicky" feedback. Charging is done through the usual 12mm offset RCP. Since the board has deep sleep, no kill key required.

www.etsy.com/shop/thekybershop

www.facebook.com/jasotsabers
The administrator has disabled public write access.