Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Beginner Questions

Beginner Questions 3 months 2 weeks ago #80656

• marsthrax
I'm interested in an ASP build with DIY electronics, and this is my first build. I have a few competing desires, so I'm not quite sure which direction I should go between the Sabercore 3.0 and the Spark 2. Sorry if these have been asked before, I've been googling and searching through the forums and never found the secret sauce to quite answer my questions

1) I don't want any ports to be exposed, at least when on display. This seems to be a bigger issue with the Sabercore, since I don't see a kill-key equivalent for covering the USB. Kill key is sufficient for the Spark 2.
2) I don't want to take apart the hilt to charge it. If it can be done easily by just removing the pommel, I'm not as concerned, but I don't want to slide out the electronics.
3) I want a light-up power switch, preferably one that matches the color of my blade (so something supporting RGBA/RGBW if I go with the Spark 2)

I like the idea of being able to configure the color with the Spark 2. My main issue there is actually with charging and still supporting the AUX button. I've seen in a few places comments that you don't actually need it, but I like the idea of being able to configure the color while pressing the AUX button (I can see just twisting being triggered pretty easily), and support for other sounds (documentation implies you need to use the AUX for that). So, if I have an AUX button, I would need some way to make charging easily accessible through the pommel.

I would be willing to skip on color configuration and go with the Sabercore, since that seems to simplify everything except covering the USB port.