Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Wiring an illuminated AV switch?

Wiring an illuminated AV switch? 1 month 6 days ago #85800

• axelstriker
Hello all,

I would like to use an illuminated switch on my upcoming (first) build, with the LED only on when the saber is on. I'm using a 3.7V 18650 battery, NBv4 soundboard, NECree RGB LED, and this red AV switch from TCSS:

http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/12mm-Anti-Vandal-Momentary-Red-Ring-Switch-P927.aspx
Forward voltage 2.0V, runs at 20mA.

I am trying to calculate the resistor that I know I need, but I have no background in electronics (I have been teaching myself a LOT of basic material preparing for this build), so I want to check with people who KNOW what they're doing. I know that the resistor will be dependent on the amount of power available at that point in the circuit, but I also can't find a decent tutorial on where to wire the thing; most tutorials use nonilluminated switches, or don't use resistors, like the TCSS one on youtube.

Any advice I can get on wiring this switch and choosing the right resistor would be much appreciated!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Wiring an illuminated AV switch? 3 weeks 6 days ago #86130

• EJT
  • Thank you received: 1
You could just buy the DynaOhm variable resistor from TCSS for less than three bucks, and put it inline with the power lead for the LED. Then you don't have to think about it.