Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Overhauling my Ultrasabers Apprentice

Overhauling my Ultrasabers Apprentice 2 months 1 week ago #86731

• Eddlyss64
  • Platinum Member
  • "There is no death, there is the Force...no one's ever really gone."
  • Thank you received: 305
So I've had my Ultrasabers Apprentice for a couple years now, and frankly it's become kind of dull. It really isn't anything more than a glorified Maglite at this point, and with my interest in this hobby starting to become restored, I decided that I want to gut the saber of all its internals, redo everything with new light and sound and perhaps make some external changes, as well.

To begin with, I have very little electronics knowledge, at least when it comes to wiring. I've plugged together a few PCs before, but frankly that's about the easiest thing since 16 piece jigsaw puzzles. I've never done any soldering (though I'm sure I wouldn't have too much of a problem with it), I've never created a working circuit and I have no idea how volts and amps work. But that's the point of this project. I want to have a basic understanding of this stuff to widen job opportunities as well as wire my own electronics.

Initially, I was thinking of yanking the soundboard out of a Bladebuilders toy and rewiring everything I would need to that, but the motion sensors in those things are awful as far as I've observed. Instead of that, I would opt for a $60 Pico Crumble soundboard. Is that a toss-up, or should I go with one or the other considering my circumstances?

Next, blade color. I want to ditch the green that this saber came with and instead go with a solid medium blue, like the blue in SWTOR. I want the brightest possible LED to fill out the blade.

So here is a basic list of things I'll need. Please comment things that I'm missing, specifics that I need to add about parts and any advice you have would be much appreciated.

- Medium Blue LED
- Pico Crumble v2 Darkmeat