Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Acid etching

Acid etching 7 months 2 weeks ago #3274

• Darth Kurgan
  • Join the Dark Side!
  • Like received: 1
Hi everybody.

I'm near to order a new saber and i was thinking about decorate it with an etching, using acid or something like that.
I'm new in this hobby and i want to know if you have done this modification and how to make it.
I know that Saberforge uses the best quality materials but i don't know if are good to do this.

Sorry for my english, i'm trying to improve it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Acid etching 7 months 2 weeks ago #3276

• MystByte
  • Platinum Member
  • There is no Dark Side, nor a Light Side, There Is Only The Force
  • Like received: 62
I'm pretty sure most Acid Etching is done on steel. SF sabers are made using aluminum. It is possible to do it with Aluminum, but your mileage may vary.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Darth Kurgan

Acid etching 7 months 2 weeks ago #3279

• Darth Kurgan
  • Join the Dark Side!
I'ts my concern. I don't want to destroy my hilt. In addition i supose i have to remove all the electronics before do it and reinstall it later.

Do you know other methods to do that? Anybody have seen a decoration like that?

Acid etching 7 months 2 weeks ago #3311

• Miraluka
  • Platinum Member
  • "Judge me by my size, do you? Hmm? Hmm. And well you should not. For my ally is the Force, and a powerful ally it is."
  • Like received: 73
Do you have any concept art or reference art for the design you want? Oh, and the piece/parts you want etched. Kinda curious.

...might be able to help.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Darth Kurgan

Acid etching 7 months 2 weeks ago #3381

• Darth Kurgan
  • Join the Dark Side!
Miraluka wrote:
Do you have any concept art or reference art for the design you want? Oh, and the piece/parts you want etched. Kinda curious.

...might be able to help.