Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Difference Between Momentary/Latching Switches?

Difference Between Momentary/Latching Switches? 1 month 1 week ago #76095

• Vandomar
  • Thank you received: 1
Hey guys, so I'm looking to get my first ASP saber soon. I'm new to the scene and want to make sure I'm understanding everything. I recently asked about substituting a light-up switch for a regular silver one, as I think it first the type of saber I'm making better.

However, it seems you can only get a momentary silver switch with a sound build. I was hoping to get a latching, but it occurs to me that I may be mistaken in what I believe these terms mean. So, I have a few questions I hope you fine gents can answer:

1. Does one press of a momentary switch turn on the saber, or do you have to constantly hold it down for the saber to stay on?

2. Is there a way to get a latching silver switch for a sound build, assuming a momentary is undesirable?

3. Which do you prefer, momentary or latching, and why?

Thanks all. I really appreciate your time and help!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Difference Between Momentary/Latching Switches? 1 month 1 week ago #76099

• Vechaljian
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 155
If your doing a sound build a momentary switch is preferred, but if doing a custom hero- Hence a spark color 2 install you can use a latching for ignition, but I prefer momentary however, you can get non lit switches, but I can't say from SF, since it seems they have went to a dual tactile switch which works but doesn't always match what your going for.