Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Chassis Help

Chassis Help 6 months 3 days ago #76512

• sweetbabyray42
I almost have all of my parts to start my first diy build on a prodigal son hilt. I was wondering if it would be easier to just cram all of my inner parts (battery, speaker, recharge port, soundboard, etc.) into my prodigal son lightsaber or using a chassis. What is the best chassis for a prodigal son saber?

Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Chassis Help 6 months 2 days ago #76516

• Brax
  • Administrator
  • Thank you received: 1474
I am no expert, but I believe anyone who is would recommend a chassis if possible. Better for wire management, and better protection of the sound board, and speaker from the vibrations resulting from dueling. Me being the organization freak that I am, I just like the idea of an apparatus designed specifically for that purpose, that (on the rare occasion that it sees the light of day) looks damned cool!

With today's 3-d printing technology where it is, these things are not terribly expensive, and are tailored for the environments for which they are used. That appeals to me on every level.

I will leave it to the aforementioned experts to recommend a specific chassis for what you are doing, but I think that they would agree that if you can, a chassis is the way to go! B)
Imagine what you will know tomorrow....
The following user(s) said Thank You: sweetbabyray42

Chassis Help 6 months 2 days ago #76518

• scifidude79
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 201
Like Brax said, 3D printing. Go to Shapeways (web search for it.) Search on there for "SaberForge" and you'll find a variety of chassis options available for SF sabers. (some are specific to a hilt, others are generic) I've been researching this for building a saber I got today. B)

A lot of the discs you find for DIY chassis are too wide to fit in SF hilts.
Last Edit: 6 months 2 days ago by scifidude79.