Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Another Graflex 2.1 Build

Another Graflex 2.1 Build 6 months 3 weeks ago #72050

• Andi-Jae EL
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 144
This probably should have been posted a while ago as I finished this build back in July/August but I wanted to fine tune it a little bit by getting it to be a little more movie accurate. This happens to be my first build. Why not? A Graflex should be on everyone's to do list at some point. If it wasn't for that hilt, we probably wouldn't be on a site like this. There are so many of these on the internet right now in forums and YouTube that I won't get into too many details. This is from Randy's batch from over the summer (dubbed the 2.1) and overall I was pretty happy with the quality. I'm not a Graflex expert by any means and I know about some of the inaccuracies as well as other flaws in the hilt (clamp, texture/color, etc..) compared to a vintage, but this was a nice alternative to spending close to a grand for one on eBay. I used Goth's knight chassis with a crystal chamber, a Spark 2, recharge port, BrBW tri-cree, dual activation switches both in the red button and under the clamp card (thanks to watching Shameem's video) and a ton of mods to make it more accurate. I went for the ESB look. Both Red buttons are new from Roman's Props and are functioning buttons as well (meaning these press down and come back up). The clamp card is from Slothfurnace, all hex screws have been replaced with either slotted screws or rivets. ARKM Graflex blade plug (7/8th's), Wanna Wanga's kobolt D-ring and the Graflex pommel cap from KR sabers. If you want to attempt it, I highly suggest watching "Let's Build a Graflex" from East Coast Sabers on YouTube. He literally walks you through every step. Here are some pics and the link to the album for those that want to see it. Thanks for looking.
http://imgur.com/a/sLyAC

- Light em up