Username: Password: Remember me
Threaded Indented

TOPIC: Newcomer to the hobby

Newcomer to the hobby 8 months 3 weeks ago #21739

• liberator
  • The force shall free me.
  • Thank you received: 1
Hello everyone,

This is my first post here so I'll try to keep it short and sweet. I've always been a huge Star Wars fan, and I didn't know that Saber Forge existed until a few weeks ago so imagine my excitement when I realized my childhood dreams of a quality duel ready saber could finally be achieved. I have some fencing experience although it is minimal, dueling has always interested me. After checking out the FAQ here and the site I quickly fell in love with the Hero tier Venomous Fury, there's just something about its sleek look that screams "I need to be bought!" to me. I didn't want to settle on a saber right away so I kept looking and also found out about ASP. From what I can see here and on the site it seems like this is going to be the future of all of Saber Forges best products. I can see that I was a little late to the Kickstarter but the Indiegogo page is still accepting orders for an Estimated February delivery. I was looking through the donation levels and the $700 tier perked my interest because I'd get two sabers at a deal and I've always like the idea of dual wielding sabers or even a saber staff. Especially considering it looks like I'd be getting more bang for my buck with an ASP saber. What I'm wondering is: Would you guys advise against putting this much money down for a first saber? There's a comic con in my city every year and I am interested in cosplaying there as a Sith Lord. I'm also wondering how flexible Saber Forge is with orders? I noticed that the $700 tier includes champion tier boards but I'd want to opt for hero boards for full RGBA colour and all five fonts. I'm also not sure about blade length, I'm a 6.2 male and from what I've heard having shorted blades is better for dual wielding although longer blades are better for taller people