Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: small-scale coloring

small-scale coloring 1 month 2 weeks ago #82800

• TOPACES
  • Thank you received: 26
I started to think about the coloring some of the greeblies on my saber and how to approach this task.
I have mostly settled for a color scheme, and now I am wondering about what kind of paint will work.

There's only so little paint that I require for this, so I'd like to avoid getting unnecessary amounts.

That's why I'm thinking either model paint or nail polish. The latter would be easier to get a small selection of colors at a reasonable price, but I'm wondering if it would stick to the brushed aluminum finish properly. But I have no experience with model colors either.

Any advice on what works better, or what other options there would be?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

small-scale coloring 1 month 2 weeks ago #82817

• wamphyri13
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 83
Testors model paint for the red bars. I did mine in green, yellow and red. Apply with a toothpick and add drops little by little. For the red knob, check ebay or TCSS and just buy a red knurled knob. 8-32 is the thread size. Instead of painting your original greeblie yellow, get a brass lamp knob part in 8-32. It's easier, still cheap, and is smoother in the hand than the bumpy greeblie.
Ryan
No matter where you go, there you are.

small-scale coloring 1 month 2 weeks ago #82818

• wamphyri13
  • Elite Member
  • Thank you received: 83
You can also add #84 O-rings to the pommel for comfort.
No matter where you go, there you are.
The following user(s) said Thank You: TOPACES

small-scale coloring 1 month 2 weeks ago #82825

• TOPACES
Thanks for the tip with the O-Rings. Didn't think about that yet.
Your saber was actually the one that inspired my design.

My problem is that I live in Germany and only visit the US occasionally when I'm on business trips about once or twice a year.